Progress Report #1

I am doing well so far. I’ve lost 2.8 lbs. I’ve exercised or hit 10K steps every day this month. I’m drinking insane amounts of liquid. I have eaten Paleo 90% of the time. I need to get better about logging food, so that is something I am going to focus on this week.

I feel like I am making progress with my physical fitness, but when I think about the shape I need to be in to hike the JMT and actually enjoy it… I start to feel really overwhelmed. There is a huge difference between going to the gym or even hiking outside in Nebraska and hiking an actual mountain at elevation. I’m very worried that I won’t be ready, even with 7 months to train.

I am going to focus on climbing stairs and walking on a steep incline on the treadmill. Those two activities are the best simulation I can think of. I am also going to build a box so I can do weighted step ups every night. Finally, I am joining my brother in law for a CrossFit workout once per week on Saturdays.

Once the weather warms up a little, I am going to throw in a long hike every weekend while wearing my backpack at full trail weight – 35 lbs. I’ll start at 2 hours and work up to 6 hours. I will need to buy a pass to Hitchcock Nature Center because that place has the best hills I’ve found in the local area. Fontenelle Forest and Neal Woods don’t compare.

I remember the hard time I had when I hiked the AT and don’t want a repeat performance. I have to to everything in my power to make sure I am ready. This is a once in a lifetime trip and I want to enjoy every mile on the trail.

Leave a Reply

